top of page


Public·26 members

Idle Race Sea Of Dreams Radi Zip

Idle Race Sea of Dreams Radi zip

The Idle Race were a British psychedelic rock band that formed in Birmingham in the late 1960s. They are best known for being the first band of Jeff Lynne, who later became famous as the leader of Electric Light Orchestra and a member of the Traveling Wilburys. The Idle Race released two albums and several singles, but never achieved commercial success. However, they have been praised by critics and fans for their original and inventive music, which combined catchy melodies, whimsical lyrics, and complex arrangements.

One of the most interesting aspects of The Idle Race's legacy is their radio sessions, which were recorded live in the BBC studios for various shows. These sessions showcase the band's talent and versatility, as they performed songs from their albums as well as covers of other artists. Some of these sessions have been officially released on CD, while others remain unreleased or available only on bootlegs.


One of the most sought-after bootlegs is the one titled "Idle Race Sea of Dreams Radi zip", which contains 16 tracks from various radio sessions between 1967 and 1970. The title is derived from the name of one of the band's songs, "Sea of Dreams", which was released as a single in 1969. The song is a dreamy and psychedelic ballad, featuring Lynne's distinctive vocals and guitar work. The bootleg also includes other gems, such as "Lucky Man", "The Lady Who Said She Could Fly", "Come with Me", and "Going Home". The bootleg also features some rare covers, such as "Different Drum" by The Stone Poneys, "Soul Deep" by The Box Tops, and "Midnight Blue" by ELO.

The bootleg is a must-have for fans of The Idle Race and psychedelic rock in general. It is a rare glimpse into the live sound of one of the most underrated bands of all time. The bootleg can be found on Discogs or on SoundCloud .

The Idle Race: A Brief History

The Idle Race started as a band called The Nightriders, which was formed in 1962 by guitarist and singer Dave Pritchard, bassist Greg Masters, and drummer Roger Spencer. They played mostly covers of rock and roll and rhythm and blues songs, and gained a local following in Birmingham. In 1966, they recruited Jeff Lynne as their lead guitarist and vocalist, who had previously played with another local band called The Andicaps. Lynne brought his own songs to the band, which were influenced by The Beatles, The Byrds, and The Beach Boys.

In 1967, the band changed their name to The Idle Race, and signed a deal with Liberty Records. They released their first single, "Here We Go Round the Lemon Tree", which was written by Lynne and produced by Gerry Bron. The song was a catchy and upbeat pop tune, with a hint of psychedelia. It received some airplay on BBC Radio 1, but failed to chart. The band continued to release singles throughout 1967 and 1968, such as "The Skeleton and the Roundabout", "The End of the Road", "I Like My Toys", and "Follow Me Follow". All these songs were written by Lynne and produced by Bron, and showcased Lynne's talent for writing catchy melodies, clever lyrics, and intricate arrangements.

In 1968, the band released their first album, titled The Birthday Party. The album was a concept album that told the story of a boy who attends a birthday party where he meets various characters and experiences different adventures. The album was praised by critics for its originality and creativity, but it sold poorly. The band also suffered from a lack of promotion from their label, and a lack of live exposure due to their complex music being difficult to reproduce on stage.

In 1969, the band left Liberty Records and signed with DJM Records. They released their second album, titled Idle Race. The album was more mature and sophisticated than their previous one, featuring more diverse influences such as folk rock, country rock, baroque pop, and classical music. The album was also produced by Lynne himself, who had learned the skills from working with Bron. The album included some of the band's best songs, such as "Come with Me", "On with the Show", "Days of Broken Arrows", and "Sea of Dreams". However, the album also failed to sell well.

In 1970, Lynne left the band to join The Move, which later evolved into Electric Light Orchestra. He was replaced by Mike Hopkins, who had previously played with The Uglys and Balls. The band released one more single, "In the Summertime", which was a cover of the Mungo Jerry hit. The single was a moderate success, reaching number 22 on the UK charts. However, the band soon disbanded, as they felt they had no future without Lynne.

The Idle Race have been largely forgotten by the mainstream, but they have gained a cult following among fans of psychedelic rock and Jeff Lynne. Their albums have been reissued on CD and vinyl, and some of their radio sessions have been officially released as well. They have also been praised by other musicians, such as Paul Weller, Noel Gallagher, and Tom Petty. The Idle Race are a hidden treasure of British rock music, and deserve more recognition for their contribution to the genre.


Welcome to the group! You can connect with other members, ge...
Group Page: Groups_SingleGroup
bottom of page